Australian Politics

Australian Politics is in the framework of parliamentary democracy. A two-party system is used for their electoral procedures. The nation od Australia is governed as a constitutional monarchy and a federation. They also have an adversarial legislature which is based on the Westminster system. Parliamentarians will be elected to be a part of the Australian parliament. The Australian politics is a parliamentary mechanism from the United Kingdom and a federalist system from the Australian Senate combined into one system called a bicameral body. They operate using a compulsory voting system.

Legislative Branch

There are two chambers in the Australian Parliament Commonwealth. The Australian House of Representatives consist of 150 members. Each of these members has a three year term for a single seat constituency. These members are voted through full preferential voting system. The Australian Senate, on the other hand, consist of 76 members. Each of the six states in Australia have their own twelve members who are voted through the single transferable voting system. The Northern Territory and the Australian Capital Territory also have two representatives each, voted through single transferable voting as well. They have a six-year term and they need to renew it every three years. The life of the House of Representatives will determine how long the term of the territory senators will be.

Executive Branch

The Crown ministers in the Australian Government will be taken from the members of the parliament. This is based on the Westminster tradition of the United Kingdom government. The government will be formed by the parties that have the majority of the members from the House of Representatives. The Prime minister is also always a member of the House of Representatives. Each minister must collect government decisions individually. If they can’t defend these decisions, then they have to resign. This rarely happens though.

Political Parties

The Australian Political Landscape is dominated by the national parties ever since the federation. There are a lot of representing parties that was organized during the 1900s. Like the non-revolutionary workers and the Australian Labor Party. Australian Political Parties not involved in socialist agenda has two main parties: The Center right party and the rural or agrarian conservative party. The prior is for the businesses and middle class people, now it is called the Liberal Party of Australia. The latter is now called the National Party of Australia. There are some political parties that made it to the parliament to represent their organization. Up until now, there are still a lot of debates going on whether or not the Australian Political system should be a two-party system. The Liberal Party and the National party is still the dominating parties in the Australian political landscape.